United Way
of Massachusetts Bay
and Merrimack Valley

Board of Directors

The volunteers who make up United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley’s Board of Directors come from the business, health, social service, media, and government sectors as well as the community at large. They are a true representation of what Eastern Massachusetts and Southeastern New Hampshire and Maine have to offer.

Steven D. Krichmar
Chair of the Board
Managing Principal of Krichmar & Associates

Dewey J. Awad
Managing Director
Bain Capital/Brookside Capital

Phyllis Barajas
Executive Director

Robert L. Beal
Related Beal

Jeffrey Bray
Vice President, Investor Relations

Ivy L. Brown
UPS – Northeast District

Polly Bryson
Terra Nova Partners, LLC

Jacques Carter
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Phil Catchings
Co-Chair, Community Impact Committee

Liz Cheng
General Manager for Television

Timothy J. Connelly
Chair, Campaign Cabinet
Brown Brothers Harriman & Co.

Janet Cooper
Chair, Resource Development Committee

Kristina Davis
Chair, Community Impact Committee
Deloitte & Touche LLP

Michael Doughty
President and General Manager, John Hancock Insurance
John Hancock Financial Services

Michael K. Durkin
President and CEO
United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley

William T. Eaton
Senior Managing Director, Senior Vice President
Detwiler Fenton Investment Management

Susan Esper
Immediate Past Chair of the Board
Deloitte & Touche LLP

Lynnette C. Fallon
Executive Vice President, HR/Legal
General Counsel
Axcelis Technologies

Matthew E. Fishman
Vice President
Community Health, Partners Healthcare

Colby T. Gamester
Attorney at Law
Gamester Law Office

Lourdes German
The Civic Innovation Project

Patrick Gilligan
EVP Sales, Marketing & Product
Blue Cross Blue Shield MA

Matthew Goulding
Associate, Corporate Department
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Dan Griggs
Market President, Commercial – Northeastern MA
TD Bank

Ellen Griggs
Independent Board Director Market Street Trust Company
E. Ritter & Company
Evanston Capital Management

Pamela Herbst
Managing Director, Head of Direct Investment Group

Carolyn M. Jones
Market President & Publisher
Boston Business Journal

Christel Kennedy
Head of Change Management/COO of Risk Management
Santander Bank

Patricia Kraft
New England Patriots Football Club

Mary Kay Leonard
Director of Advisory Services
The Center for Effective Philanthropy

John Mang
Vice President
Global Male Shave Care, Gillette Brand Franchise Leader
Cutting Edge Franchise & The Art of Shaving

Penni McLean-Conner
Sr. VP & Chief Customer Officer
Eversource Energy

Rich Moche
Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.

Michael Mooney
Nutter McClennen & Fish LLP

Carolyn Murphy
Group Human Resources Manager
Enterprise Holdings – Boston Group

George Neble
Chair, Campaign Cabinet
Managing Partner, Boston Office
Ernst & Young LLP
New England Area

Bill Piombino

Dorothy Puhy
Chair, Audit Committee
Executive Vice President & COO
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Eric Rosengren
President and CEO
Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Jay A. Shuman
Chief Financial Officer
Boston Financial Data Services, Inc

Tim Sullivan
Chief of Staff for Intergovernmental Relations / Senior Advisor for External Affairs
City of Boston

Carol Valianti
Vice President, Communications & Public Affairs

Rich Voccio
Assistant Treasurer
Chief Administrative Officer
United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley

Mark Whitney
Chair, Seacoast Regional Council
Vice President Strategy, Community Relations and Fundraising
Exeter Health Resources

Sujata Yadav
SVP, Head of Consumer Lending
Eastern Bank