Board of Directors


The volunteers who make up United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley’s Board of Directors come from the business, health, social service, media, and government sectors as well as the community at large. They are a true representation of what Eastern Massachusetts and Southeastern New Hampshire and Maine have to offer.


Phyllis Barajas
CEO and Founder
Conexion Inc.

Robert Beal*

Jeffrey Bray
Vice President, Financial Planning Analysis

Ivy L. Brown

Brenda Campbell-Warner, CPA
Deloitte & Touche LLP

Jacques Carter, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Beth Israel Deaconess
Medical Center

Liz Cheng
General Manager for Television, WGBH

Timothy J. Connelly
Limited Partner
Brown Brothers Harriman

Janet Cooper

Kristina Davis
Deloitte & Touche LLP

William T. Eaton
Senior Director
Portfolio Management
Director Wealth Management
TEG Advisors
RPg Family Wealth Advisory, LLC


Matthew E. Fishman
Vice President
Community Health,
Partners Healthcare

Colby T. Gamester
Attorney at Law
Gamester Law Office

Lourdes German
Chair, Governance and
Nominating Committee
Assistant Professor of Practice & Co-Director, Managing for Social Impact, Carroll School of Management, Boston College

Patrick Gilligan
Chair, Administration and
Finance Committee
Executive Vice President,
Sales, Marketing & Product
Blue Cross Blue Shield
of Massachusetts

Matthew Goulding
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Dan Griggs
Market President
Commercial – Northeastern MA
TD Bank

Ellen Griggs
Chair, Investment Committee
Independent Board Director

Ellie Harrison

Pamela Herbst
Executive Managing Director
AEW Capital
Management, L.P.

Jeffrey R. Holland
Chair, Campaign Cabinet

Carolyn M. Jones
Market President & Publisher
Boston Business Journal

Patricia Kraft

Steven D. Krichmar
Immediate Past Board Chair

Deborah Lawrence
Senior Vice President
Global Commercial Banking
Bank of America NA

Mary Kay Leonard
Chair, Compensation
Consulting and Interim
Executive Services

John Mang
Senior Partner
C-Suite Consulting Group

Penni McLean-Connor
Chair of the Board
Sr. VP & Chief Customer Officer
Eversource Energy

Rich Moche
Chair, Community Impact Committee

Michael Mooney
Nutter McClennen & Fish LLP

Carolyn Murphy
Group Human
Resources Manager
Enterprise Holdings—
Boston Group

Patrick J. Murray, Jr.
President and CEO
Bristol County Savings Bank

Jackie Palladino
Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer
Federal Reserve Bank

Dorothy Puhy
Chair, Audit Committee

Jay A. Shuman

Jane Steinmetz
Office Managing Principal,
Boston Office
Ernst & Young, LLP

Nick Toumpas
Executive Director
Seacoast/Strafford Integrated
Delivery Network

Carol Valianti
Vice President, Communications
& Public Affairs

Richard Voccio
Assistant Treasurer
Chief Administrative Officer
United Way of Massachusetts
Bay and Merrimack Valley

Mark Whitney
Vice President, Strategy,
Community Relations
and Fundraising
Exeter Health Resources

Sujata Yadav
Senior Vice President,
Consumer Lending Director
Eastern Bank


Click for a list of our current Board of Directors.